Region 83 History

The first date AYSO is mentioned locally is July 1975 when we became a pilot region.  Under the effort of many people, Dan De Jong was our first recognized Commissioner.  The 5 Cities (Youth Soccer league) as it was first known comprised 2 teams of 5th and 6th graders from Shell Beach, and two teams from Oceano,  59 boys and girls. Region 83 became chartered as a full region in July 1978.

In 1980 5-Cities (and Nipomo) had 600 children playing. Through 1985 the numbers remained around 600-650 and had registration fee of $20 per child. Going into the 1988 season there were over 1,000 kids in our program.

In 1989-90 Nipomo created its own region, separating from the 5-Cities region which had grown to nearly 1200 kids.  5-Cities AYSO now has 1640 kids and nearly 170 teams!  The 2006 season proudly marks our 31st year in the community!

Although a lot of folks volunteer a tremendous amount of time to make each season happen the Regional Commissioner holds the major burden of planning and operating the league.  A great deal of responsibility is on their shoulders. 

Key people
Dieter Heinz a West German 100, 400m relay runner in the 1960 Rome Olympic Trials was a major influence on soccer locally and within AYSO specifically. Dieter’s daughter was a 2005 season team coach, and Dieter’s grandchildren now play in our region!

Tim Banducci a local businessman was influential through the middle years of our region, and continues to support the program.

More recently Don Ramsay has been a major and positive influence on the soccer community locally, presently serving the kids as our Area Director.

All three men served as Area Director influencing all Central Coast AYSO Regions.

Of great importance is the positive role that Milena Denike had on the community and oversight of the greatest period of growth for our region.

Past Regional Commissioners

1976, 1977 Dan Dejong
1978, 1979 H. Dieter Heinz
1980 Tim Banducci
1981 George Stewart
1982 Tim Banducci
1983, 1984 Don Ramsay
1985 Will Power
1986 Chuck Hurst
1987, 1988 Tim Banducci
1989, 1990 Milena Denike
1991, 1992 Chris Deviny
1993, 1994, 1995 Lin Buhlman
1996, 1997 Mat Van Steenwyk
1998 Tom Buhlman
1999, 2000, 2001 Joe Steed
2002, 2003 Ken Claassen
2004*, 2005*, 2006*, 2007** Tom Lebens

*Region 83 recognized as a Platinum Region (the highest level of recognition) by the AYSO National Support and Training Center
**Application deadline is October 1, 2007